Main Content

TCU Campus Initiatives

2018 Frost Foundation Lecture

Leymah Gbowee received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2011 for her work in leading a women’s peace movement that brought an end to the Second Liberian Civil War in 2003. A second civil war broke out in 1999 and brought systematic rape and brutality to an already war-weary Liberia. Responding to the conflict, Leymah mobilized an inter-religious coalition of Christian and Muslim women and organized the Women of Liberia Mass Action for Peace movement.

Through Leymah’s leadership, thousands of women staged pray-ins and nonviolent protests demanding reconciliation and the resuscitation of high-level peace talks. The pressure pushed President Charles Taylor into exile, and smoothed the path for the election of Africa’s first female head of state, fellow 2011 Nobel Laureate Ellen Johnson Sirleaf. Documenting these efforts in the Tribeca Film Festival 2008 Best Documentary winner Pray the Devil Back to Hell, Leymah demonstrated the power of social cohesion and relationship-building in the face of political unrest and social turmoil.

The Frost Foundation Lectureship

The Center for International Studies hosts the Frost Foundation Lectureship for Global Issues, an annual lecture series made possible by a grant from the Frost Foundation. The Foundation was named in honor of Edwin Ambrose Frost and Virginia Chapelle Frost and is dedicated to broadening international understanding by showcasing diverse cultural points of view.

Previous Frost Foundation Speakers

  • 2017: Ambassador (ret.) Mary Ann Peters, CEO of the Carter Center
  • 2016: Rwanda focus, featuring Carl Wilkens, Pierre Prosper, Sara Darehshori, Lisa Pruitt, and Michele Mitchell
  • 2015: Jodi Cobb, National Geographic Photographer and Dr. Val Moghadam on Democratization and Women’s Political Leadership in North Africa
  • 2014: Dr. Dambisa Moyo, International economist and author
  • 2013: Nicholas Carr, Author of The Shallows: What the Internet is Doing to Our Brain
  • 2012: Vicente Fox, Former President of Mexico
  • 2011: Greg Mortenson, Author of Three Cups of Tea
  • 2010: Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., Attorney and environmental activist
  • 2009: Danya Baumeister, Co-Founder of the Biomimicry Guild
  • 2008: Erik Peterson, Senior Vice President of the Center for Strategic and International Studies